Figure 2.The adult ovary can be subdivided into three regions: the cortex, medulla, and hilum regions. The cortex consists of the surface epithelium (se), tunica albuginea (ta), ovarian follicles (primordial, primary (pf), secondary (sf), small, medium, large Graafian follicle (gf)) and corpora lutea (cl). The medulla consists of large blood vessels and nerves. The hilum contains large spiral arteries and the hilum or ovary Leydig cells. (Bloom W, Fawcett DW: A Textbook of Histology. Philadelphia, WB Saunders Company, 1975)